26 July 2012 | By: Writing Buddha

Kargil Vijay Diwas!!! Bas Itna Yaad Rahein Ek Saathi Aur Bhi Tha!!!

643rd BLOG POST -->>

             As in my last Blog Post, I have mentioned how 26th July is a black day for Mumbaikars as Mumbai lost 5000 lives because of Flood, I am here to tell a Historic Achievement of our country that was made on the very same date. The Kargil war that took place between May and July 1999 was finally won by Indian side on 26th July, 1999. This conflict between India and Pakistan is also known as Operation Vijay. The operation was conducted to clear the Kargil sector from the enemies. Infiltration of Pakistani soldiers and Kashmiri militants into positions on the Indian side of the LOC, which serves as the border between both the countries was the cause of the war. During the initial stages of the war, Pakistan accused the fighting completely on Kashmiris but the documents that were seized by casualties and later claims of Pakistan's PM showed involvement of Pakistani paramilitary forces. Our great INDIAN ARMY, with the support by Indian Air Force, in which my Late Chachaji- Mr. Dinesh Ruhela was also a part, recaptured majority of the positions on the Indian side of the LOC by Pakistanis. Later when the world started interfering, Pakistani forces withdrew from the fight and left the remaining Indian positions along the LOC. 

             The Pakistani intrusion in Kargil was reported by local shepherds on 3rd May,1999. Then, Indian Army patrol was sent. Five Indian soldiers were captured and tortured to death. The bombings from Pakistanis sabotaged ammunition dump in Kargil. Indian Air Force launched their air strikes against Pakistan's infiltrators on 26th May. IAF lost two fighters and then IAF MI-17 was shot down by Pakistan, killed four air crew. On 6th June, Indian army launched major offensive in Kargil. Indian Army re-captures two key positions in the Batalic sector. Indian Army secures Tololing in Dras, captures two vital posts, launches three attacks in Kargil and recaptures Tiger Hill after an 11-hour battle. On 7th June, India also recaptured Jubar Heights. On 11th, Pakistan started pulling out and India captured more peaks. On 14th July, PM A.B. Vajpayee declared Operation Vijay a successful mission and finally on 26th JULY 1999, all the Pakistani infiltrators were reported to be fled away from our areas. YIPPIE!!! 

              This is the 13th Year since the success of the OPERATION VIJAY. We Remember this day as "Kargil Vijay Diwas". Let's pay our homages to the 527 Indian Heroes whom we lost in the FIGHT. 

In all 527 soldiers from Indian Armed Forces sacrificed their lives during the war:

Lieutanant Col R.Vishwanathan
Major Ajay Singh Jasrotia
Major Kamlesh Prasad
Major Padmapani Acharya
Major Parmanand
Major Rajesh S. Adhikari
Major Vivek Gupta
Major Mariappan Saravanan
Captain Amit Bhardwaj
Captain Aditya Mishra
Captain Haneefuddin
Captain Jerry Premraj
Captain Jintu Gogoi
Captain Keishing Clifford Nongrum
Captain P.V.Vikram
Captain Vikram Batra
Captain Anuj Nayyar
Captain Amol Kalia
Lieutanant Amit Kaul
Lieutanant Neikezhakou Kengurusie
Lieutanant Sourav Kalia
Lieutanant Vijayant Thapar
LieutenantManoj Kumar Pandey
Deputy Commander Sukhbir Singh Yadav
Driver-Soldier Gopinath Moharana
Flight Engineer Raj Kishore Sahoo
Flight Lieutanant S Muhilan
Grenadier Amardeep
Grenadier Bajinder Singh
Grenadier Mohan Katha
Grenadier Munish Kumar
Grenadier Raj Kumar
Grenaidier Yogendera Singh Yadav
Havaldar Abdul Karim
Havaldar Beejay Singh
Havaldar Daler Singh Bahu
Havaldar Jai Prakash Singh
Havaldar Khazan Singh
Havaldar Padam Singh Dhama
Havaldar Ram Kumar
Havaldar Sarwan Singh Se
ngar Havaldar Surendra Singh
Havaldar Sultan Singh Narwari
s Havaldar Tan Bahadur Chhetri
Havaldar Tsweang Rigzin
Havaldar Yashvir Singh
Jawan Arvind Kumar Pandey
Lance Havaldar Ramkumar
Lance Havaldar Samandar Singh Hooda
Lance Naik Ahmed Ali
Lance Naik Balwan Singh
Lance Naik Bijender Singh
Lance Naik Eknath Khairnar
Lance Naik Gurmail Singh
Lance Naik Hera Singh
Lance Naik Keshan Singh
Lance Naik Madan Singh
Lance Naik Manas Ranjan Sahu
Lance Naik Om Prakash
Lance Naik Rakesh Chand
Lance Naik Ram Kumar Pradhan
Lance Naik Surianam Singh
Lance Naik Shankar Shinde
Lance Naik T.S.Jaswant Singh
Naik Anand singh
Naik Bharat Singh
Naik Birender Singh Lamba
Naik Buta Singh
Naik Chaman Singh
Naik Dharam Singh
Naik Ganesh Prasad Yadav
Naik Guardian Mekh Bahadur Gurung
Naik Jagat Singh
Naik Kasmir Singh
Naik Krishan Pal
Naik Mangat Singh
Naik Narayana Rao Desai
Naik Nirmal Singh
Naik R. Kamaraj
Naik Raj Kumar Punia
Naik Rakesh Chand
Naik Ram Swarup
Naik Sachidananda Malik
Naik Samunder Singh
Naik Shatrughan Singh
Naik Shiv Vasayya
Naik Surendra Singh
Naik Surendra Pal
Naik Surjeet Singh
Naik Subedar Lal Chand
Naik Vikram Singh
Naik Yoginder Singh
Rifleman Ansuya Prasad Dhayani
Rifleman Bachan Singh
Rifleman Dabal Singh
Rifleman Dilwar Singh
Rifleman Jaideep Singh
Rifleman Kuldeep Singh
Rifleman Linkon Pradhan
Rifleman Mohammed Aslam
Rifleman Mohammed Farid
Rifleman Rattan Chand
Rifleman Shaukat Hussain Kalgam
Rifleman Sunil Jungt Mahat
Rifleman Varinder Lal
Rifleman Vikram Singh
Rifleman Guardian Johar Singh
Rifleman Guardian Sarvan Kumar
Sergeant PVNR Prasad
Sergeant Raj Kishore Sahu
Sepoy Ajmer Singh
Sepoy Amardeep Singh
Sepoy Anil Kumar
Sepoy Arjun Ram
Sepoy Arvind Kumar Pandey
Sepoy Bajinder Singh
Sepoy Bhanwar Lal Bagaria
Sepoy Bhikaram
Sepoy Chara Nicholas
Sepoy Dharambir Singh
Sepoy Dineshkumar Vaghela
Sepoy Gangching Konyak
Sepoy Gazpal Singh
Sepoy Gopinath Mohrana
Sepoy Harendragiri Goswami
Sepoy Jugal Kishore
Sepoy Har Prasad
Sepoy Karan Singh
Sepoy Keolanand Dwivedi
Sepoy Kewal Anand
Sepoy Khem Raj
Sepoy Krishan Kumar
Sepoy Moola Ram
Sepoy Naresh Singh
Sepoy Pramod Kumar
Sepoy Rajinder
Sepoy Rajvir Singh
Sepoy Raswinder Singh
Sepoy Satvir Singh
Sepoy Satnam Singh
Sepoy Senthil
Sepoy Shaikh Mastan Wali
Sepoy Sheesh Ram
Sepoy Shiv Shankar Prasad Gupta
Sepoy Sukhwinder Singh
Sepoy Suresh Chhetri
Sepoy Suresh Kumar
Sepoy Varinder Kumar
Sepoy Vijaypal Singh
Signalman Rajan Sahu
Signalman Vinod Kumar
Subedar Bhanwar Lal
Subedar Harpaul Singh
Subedar Lal Singh
Subedar K. Medappa
Subedar Randhir Singh
Subedar Sumer Singh Rathore
Squadron Leader Ajay Ahuja
Squadron Leader Rajiv Pundir
Squadron Leader Lal Singh
Squadron Leader Ojha
Zrfn Man Singh
Kaushal Yadav
Basavaraj Chougala

            May their soul rest in peace. They are the REAL HEROES. They fight on the border for us. Hence, we proudly announce that Pakistanis are loser or else they would have been ruling us now. We have already seen what few of them can do against us on 26/11 and other such bloody instances. So, a salute goes to our Indian soldiers, army, commandos and every bodyguard of our Mother India. :-)



6 CoMMenTs !!! - U CaN aLSo CoMMenT !!!:

Anonymous said...

......1094 deaths in mumbai floods :)

Anamika said...

Respect to every individual who fought n sacrificed der life for our motherland n also those who r currently at border on der respective duties so dat we common people remain safe n secure at our homes...Salute to Indian Army n Indian Air Force..Jai Hind !!
n one thing more its always tough to write abt history n sensitive issues like these...so Kudos to d Attempt...

Anonymous said...


Writing Buddha said...

Anonymous, sorry if I have been wrong but what I got from net, it is 5000. I will recheck it soon.

Writing Buddha said...

Yes Anamika, it is very tough to write about such sensitive issues but I wanted to write on this very thing as I am very fond of my country and love whenever I heart hat it has won in something.. :-) So, its done and glad that YOU liked it.

Writing Buddha said...

Thanks Aarthi.

Post a Comment